Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Share tips and tricks with the AOM user community.
dfinch
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Contact:

Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by dfinch » Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:02 pm

Amazon controls the horizontal and the vertical. If you don't like the results of a node query, tough stuff - you will have to reformulate your node value query until you get something you can live with. This is experimental and interactive, but you should be able to build a highly customized store in two or three hours, including breaks.

Goal: Setup to find Amazon browse nodes :?
- open a brower window to your store shop.php
- open a brower window to your store admin.php
- open a brower window to browsenodes.com
So you have three browsers open.

Goal: Navigate BrowseNodes.com
- Click on Stores to see the top-level categories.
- Click on Sub-category Names to traverse the node tree.
- Scroll down to see the specific data record for a sub-category.
- Scroll down some more to see example items.
- Spend a bit of time EXPLORING the categories and subcategories. You might get an idea or two.
- Ignore the Download option - other webstore vendors use this for building databases. AOM handles this in realtime without a database.
- Highlight the data record "Browse Node ID" value (NOT the parent node) and copy it (Ctrl-C).

Goal: Setup AOM for Category testing
- Display the Subcategories box (to help you drill down)
- Create a Test Category in your store
- Paste (Ctrl-V) the node value into the Test category in AOM Admin.
- Ensure that the AOM category from the drop-down list is IN the SAME hierchical path ("breadcrumb" trail) as the sub-category node value you are testing (i.e., select Books if the specific node value is a sub-category of Books. If you (mis)combine, say, an Apparel sub-category value with the BOOK parent category value, results will NOT be returned from Amazon because you have specified an impossible query.

Goal: Test your query
- Save your revised category settings in AOM admin.php
- Keep the AOM Control Panel Open (you'll be going back and forth)
- In your store, click on the Test tab to force a refresh (in IE press F5)

So, did you get any results? Too many? Too few?
Are the AOM sub-category names acceptable?

You can't change them. But you do control where your store enters the browse node hierarchy through your Category definitions. And you can make any sub-category a top-level Category tab in your store using its Browse Node ID. This makes the store easier for your customers to navigate.

Optionally, you can add a "keyword" to further refine your Category - BUT my experience is that this will often result in Categories and/or Sub-Categories that return no items. The same concern applies to creating a site-level keyword. For instance, Apparel->Womens->Handbags is unlikely to return any results if you use "Batman" as a keyword. So the flexibility of keywords has a price - they can filter every result from a Category or Sub-Category. :cry: So this must be "carefully tested" or your customers will go elsewhere. Did I mention that you need to test your store?

If all is good, rename your Test category or create a new category and clone the results from the Test category - now back to BrowseNodes.com to continue building your store. :D

5) Also, you can click on a sub-category in your store and then copy the Node value from the address line (highlight, Ctrl-C) and jump back to the AOM Control Panel and paste it in. This approach doesn't require going to BrowseNodes.com - but you should check it out anyway.

6) Also, you can also go to Amazon.com and view their database queries and try to snatch a good node value from your browser address line. Many of these values aren't nodes, so trial and error is the key.

Hope this helps the newcomers...

associate-o-matic
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1879
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:40 pm
Contact:

Post by associate-o-matic » Sat Nov 19, 2005 7:42 pm

dfinch,
Thanks for the taking the time to post these details. It should come in very handle - especially to those new to Amazon browse nodes and how they relate to AOM.

Justin
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

boxer126
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:53 pm

Browsenodes.com

Post by boxer126 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:10 am

If you're having trouble finding the nodes. Check out http://www.browsenodes.com I stumbled upon it by accident and found it very useful.

isabel
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 8:55 am
Location: Washington, DC
Contact:

Post by isabel » Thu May 25, 2006 9:06 am

By the way, here is a list of US Browse Nodes from Amazon's website:

http://docs.amazonwebservices.com/AWSEc ... ticle.html

newyears1978
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:38 am

Re:

Post by newyears1978 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:01 am

isabel wrote:By the way, here is a list of US Browse Nodes from Amazon's website:

http://docs.amazonwebservices.com/AWSEc ... ticle.html
Awesome thanks!
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

User avatar
littletoons
Experience Level 10
Experience Level 10
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:53 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Contact:

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by littletoons » Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:43 am

Don't forget BrowseNodes UK is handy for the UK folks too. There are others, but I like BrowseNodes the best.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

merseyclick
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:26 am
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by merseyclick » Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:30 am

It looks like browsenodes.co.uk has gone off the air :?

Can anyone suggest an alternative?

Many Thanks - Duncan
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by mcarp555 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:20 pm

It's working for me. Often it's slow as molasses (sorry - treacle), but I'm looking at it right now.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

merseyclick
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:26 am
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by merseyclick » Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:11 pm

Back up for me now as it happens.

I noticed it was a little slow (!) but yesterday/this morning I was getting a 404 so something amiss somewhere.

Obviously the hamsters are back powering the server :)

Cheers.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

User avatar
littletoons
Experience Level 10
Experience Level 10
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:53 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Contact:

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by littletoons » Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:29 am

You can always do like I do search to the item or category you want and find the node right before bbn in the URL string to find the node you need.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

thebuynetwork
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:47 pm

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by thebuynetwork » Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:29 pm

I have also found http://www.nodesbrowser.com to be a little more accurate and pretty easy to use.

Tim
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

User avatar
littletoons
Experience Level 10
Experience Level 10
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:53 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Contact:

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by littletoons » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:05 am

I'm glad he put this together. It's faster and I really like the autocopy feature. A great time saver!
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

associate-o-matic
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1879
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: FindBrowseNodes.com

Post by associate-o-matic » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:15 am

Hey guys,
The site is FindBrowseNodes.com. It's a new site we are developing.

It's in beta and there are a few domains that redirect into it, but the main domain is:
http://www.findbrowsenodes.com

We welcome any feedback you might have.

Thanks!

Justin
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

User avatar
littletoons
Experience Level 10
Experience Level 10
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:53 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Contact:

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by littletoons » Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:49 am

Super! We'll definitely give you feedback.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

sexydexie
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:09 am

Re: Method - Finding Browse Nodes

Post by sexydexie » Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:45 am

Thanks for putting this up!!

Feedback:
1. Auto-copy by clicking the node is FANTASTIC! & Well done!
2. Showing top/left menu (Top categories) on Home page may be helpful (so no need to scroll down).
3. Items example may not necessary. (otherwise pls put at near bottom)
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests