Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Share tips and tricks with the AOM user community.
beard
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 7:16 am

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by beard » Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:18 am

To help people with little programming knowledge, I have put up a video tutorial that shows how to change shop.php to index.php

It is at http://www.business-information-service ... e-shopphp/
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

An4h0ny
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by An4h0ny » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:48 pm

*edit*

i just changed 'shop' to 'index'

much easier

thanks for the tip!
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

newyears1978
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:38 am

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by newyears1978 » Fri Jan 30, 2009 2:39 pm

An4h0ny wrote:*edit*

i just changed 'shop' to 'index'

much easier

thanks for the tip!
Much easier, but then you have to remember that any references to shop.php that you made before, you have to edit. =) ..and as mentioned before you have to change the codelock in the script or your links to things won't work =0

(I didn't notice how old this was..didn't mean to necro post...just new around here..sorry!) :)
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

aclass
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by aclass » Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:03 am

The easiest way IMO is to copy shop.php and name it index.php. This way you'll have both of the files and any references will work

this is the way I do it in all of my stores
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

associate-o-matic
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1879
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by associate-o-matic » Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:34 am

Remember that starting with v4.2.0 when you rename either the shop.php or admin.php files, you DO NOT need to edit the file name reference using a text editor, as you did you prior versions.

Just rename the files and they work.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

dynamic
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 10:26 pm

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by dynamic » Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:39 pm

Since this seems to be an ongoing thread, might I ask this question here?

I'd like to migrate my current unwieldy method of setting up pages to something more efficient and manageable -- without using redirects.

Ideally, on a site with AOM installed, instead of having one 'shop.php' file suting all purposes, I'd like to use folders to accomodate many types of widgets.

In other words, folders that I can send folks to with the URL:

example.com/widgets1
example.com/widgets2
example.com/widgets3
example.com/widgets4
example.com/widgets5
example.com/widgets6

Whatever product needs require....

In fact, I might have up to 50 folders dedicated to different products. Related products, but more targeted for particular search terms and sitemapped better.

Did that make any sense? I'm not thinking straight of late...

Thanks, answer at your leisure. I'm moving slow of late too.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by mcarp555 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:34 am

What about each widget in a custom page, then you can link to them however you'd like.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

aclass
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by aclass » Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:40 am

You can also add a few lines to the htaccess file to rewrite those pages and connect them with anything that is based on AOM
read the current htaccess file and you'll get an idea of what you can do with rewrite
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

giodelgado
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:06 pm

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by giodelgado » Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:39 am

mcarp555 wrote:Put DirectoryIndex shop.php as the first line of the .htaccess file. Note, the .htaccesss file must be in the same location as your shop.php file.
this worked for me perfectly, thanks so much =)
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

fanhjcn
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:35 pm

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by fanhjcn » Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:40 pm

I think just rename the shop.php to index.php is an easy one.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by mcarp555 » Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:59 am

Until the next upgrade. Every time an upgrade is released, I get dozens of support tickets from people who forgot they changed shop.php to index.php. Using the 'directoryindex' command in .htaccess means you never have to remember to delete the old index file and rename the new shop one.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

aperian
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 4:14 pm

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by aperian » Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:44 pm

Do you mind providing detailed newbie instructions :wink: on how to do this?

Thanks
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Modify the Default Homepage for your Domain

Post by mcarp555 » Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:31 pm

See question #1 here.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests