I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Help

Get answers to your installation and setup questions.
WESTWOOD
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Help

Post by WESTWOOD » Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:54 am

Hi,
I can't access my site or admin panel since I moved it to another host. All I get is a 404 'not found on this server' error page.
Had friends try from their PC's, and the hosting company, they can see it, but not me.
I have tried all the obvious. Double checked the DNS, cleared cache, history etc.
I have tried changing IP address (I am with talktalk and it changes whenever I switch off the router). Still, others can see it, but not me. So it must be....
I have the Bad Bot files set up on this site. So I used Filezilla to take a look. One of the talktalk servers was listed as a bad bot, so I deleted it, and tried again. Still can't get to the site. So I deleted all the bad bots in the list. Still no luck.
Have removed the .htaccess file and loaded it anew. Not sure what else to do.
Can anyone suggest please - anything I can carry out via the server/filezilla.

Thanks
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by mcarp555 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:14 am

What's the URL to the site?
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

WESTWOOD
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by WESTWOOD » Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:19 am

It's www.retroalarmclock.co.uk

I have deleted the robots.txt file and the bad-bots.php file, but I still cant get to the site. Very strange.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

WESTWOOD
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by WESTWOOD » Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:33 am

Also - a side note to the problem:
On checking the IP addresses listed as bad-bots, this appears:
msnbot-207-46-199-50.search.msn.com

I thought the msn bots were allowed within the code, so how did this happen?
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

bdw
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:11 am

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by bdw » Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:34 am

Perhaps stating the obvious (cache?), but your browser may be 'remembering' the old ip addresses...

Be sure you have completely cleared your browser's cache and/or try a different browser (best if it never visited that site before).
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

WESTWOOD
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by WESTWOOD » Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:37 am

Hi, yes, I cleared the browser (IE) cache twice to ensure it's done. Also used Firefox, cleared that twice. Still 404 page.
Can you see the site?
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by mcarp555 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:54 am

I can see the site, and the control panel login page as well.

How are you trying to access the site? Are you clicking a bookmarked link or typing in the URL manually? The bookmark may still be pointed to the old IP.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

WESTWOOD
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by WESTWOOD » Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:58 am

I am typing it fully into the address bar - since all caches are cleared.

OK - I've just been able to try my laptop (someone borrowed it!). Still have the 404 error.
Cleared the cache on there - just in case - still 404 error.

So we are down to the router. I have already tried switching it off and on, which gives it a new ip address from talk talk, but still have 404 error. I have had my brother try to access the site via his PC 10 miles away, (another talktalk user), and he can see it.

So what is left? Ideas welcome !

(update) Just tried switching off pc and router (again), just to ensure clearing is taking place. Still get 404 error.
Last edited by WESTWOOD on Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

User avatar
littletoons
Experience Level 10
Experience Level 10
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:53 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by littletoons » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:05 am

Depending on how long it's been since you switched it, it would appear it's the propagation of your own DNS at your ISP that hasn't been updated. I would still wait before contacting them. It's usually 24-48 hours, more so, depending on which country you're in.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

WESTWOOD
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by WESTWOOD » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:10 am

Hi,
The DNS was changed 4 days ago, and I know that it is the new site that is showing for others as it has a new header image.
If AOM support needs to take a look at the files on the server - although I am not sure what that would reveal - let me know.

Are there any other files I should delete, other than the robots & bad-bots files? Are they the only places that the IP addresses are stored?
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by mcarp555 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:32 am

Some hosts allow you to block various IPs from your cpanel. If yours has that option, it might be worthwhile to look through the list to see if your current IP is on it (or a range).
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

WESTWOOD
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by WESTWOOD » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:32 am

Thanks for the idea - I have just checked with them, but they say no, it's not that.

I am tempted to delete the site and re-load the files. Shame, as everyone else can see it - but I must get to the admin panel.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by mcarp555 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:09 pm

Try installing something else like a text file or an image, then see if you can view it. If it's your ISP or Antivirus, etc. blocking the domain, reinstalling the AOM files shouldn't make any difference.

Since everybody else can access the site but you, and you've tried different computers, it would point to something on your side. Because it's the same on your desktop and laptop, that rules out the HOSTS file and the browsers. The router would be the next link in the chain; does it have a firewall you can disable for a moment to see if that works?

Also, at what point did you notice the problem? Immediately after changing hosts, or a short time later? Any problems repointing the nameservers for the domain? Do you have a temporary URL from the new host that was working previously? If so, does it still work?
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

SWalker1
Experience Level 3
Experience Level 3
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 2:13 pm

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by SWalker1 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:40 pm

I had that same problem months ago. Try contacting your hosting provider. It can be your firewall blocking it or your website is going to a different ip as you are trying to browse your website (just like you said). If that seem to be the case, you will have to clear delete cookies, temporary files, etc... and close your browser and retry. It will come up again eventually.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

WESTWOOD
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I cant see my site, but others can. Bad Bot Problem. Hel

Post by WESTWOOD » Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:46 pm

Try installing something else like a text file or an image, then see if you can view it. If it's your ISP or Antivirus, etc. blocking the domain, reinstalling the AOM files shouldn't make any difference.
Yes, I will try installing a text file. Good idea.

Since everybody else can access the site but you, and you've tried different computers, it would point to something on your side. Because it's the same on your desktop and laptop, that rules out the HOSTS file and the browsers. The router would be the next link in the chain; does it have a firewall you can disable for a moment to see if that works?
I am not aware of any form of firewall for the router ( I just use AVG ). Never had any problems before, but I will look into this in the morning - been a long day.

Also, at what point did you notice the problem? Immediately after changing hosts, or a short time later?
Immediately on moving the site to this new host in the UK and repointing the DNS. Eventually, when others could see it but not me, I thought something must be wrong at my end.

Any problems repointing the nameservers for the domain?
Yes, there were problems initially, they said it was ironed out now - and as everyone else can see the site - I thought it must be something down to me / my IP / Bad Bot listed or something - that's why I deleted the bot files.
Do you have a temporary URL from the new host that was working previously? If so, does it still work?
I will try to look into this in the morning - need a fresh brain!
Thanks for giving me your thoughts and time guys. Will come back tomorrow to let you know how I get on. SWalker1, how strange that you had the same problem a few months back - that makes me feel better in some wierd way! I will go through everything again tomorrow.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests