Simple HTAccess Question.

Get answers to your installation and setup questions.
Post Reply
webdevoman
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:42 am
Contact:

Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by webdevoman » Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:49 am

Hey all and thanks ahead of time for the help...

I am in the process of adding a new section to my store but I am not adding it through the admin panel or anything. I

The problem I am having is trying to get the page to show with mod rewrite? Is there a way I can either enable mod rewrite??

My store is anonlinemall.com and for example-- say the new section is going to be at anonolinemall.com/newsection/index.php -- How do I add this to the htaccess in order to get these pages to show properly? I don't really care if these pages use mod rewrite or not. I just need them to work..

I have been doing this work since the mid 90's and I am still baffled by htaccess... I don't even try anymore..lol I appreciate the help..

Thanks
webdevoman.com
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by mcarp555 » Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:03 pm

How do you want them to show, instead of 'anonlinemall.com/newsection/index.php'?
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

webdevoman
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:42 am
Contact:

Re: Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by webdevoman » Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:09 pm

That is hard to answer because I am working on installing a phpbb forum and a wordpress blog to this same domain. I just want them to work which they are not doing right now.

Thank you so much for such a speedy reply.

There is one more question while I got you here regarding wordpress and the plug in found here..

http://www.associate-o-matic.com/wordpress/index.html

I cannot find this in the latest version. I mean the file is there but I cannot find this line..

Step 4.
Edit the line your /aom/cfg.wordpress.php file where it reads $this->path = ""; to be $this->path = "/path/to/aom/installation/directory";


Thanks again.. I can't tell you how much I appreciate the help..

webdevoman.com
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

mcarp555
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by mcarp555 » Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:43 pm

Generally, AOM and blogs and forums do not play well together, mainly because their .htaccess requirements are so different. The best solution is to keep them in separate directories (or separate subdirectories of a common root). Some people claim to make them behave, but I have not had time to research the topic fully to advise anyone on how that can happen.

As for the WP plugin, are you referring to this in the current version (V4.2.1)?:

Code: Select all

// DEFINE PATH OR URL TO YOUR AOM STORE INSTALLATION DIRECTORY (/aom)
// $this->path = "/path/to/your/aom";
$this->path = "";
It is a work in progress, so the instructions may be slightly behind the current version. If so, our apologies.
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

webdevoman
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:42 am
Contact:

Re: Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by webdevoman » Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:58 pm

Thanks for your help. I am actually right in the middle of something else right now but as soon as I finish I will give this a shot and let you know how goes it.

Thanks again..

webdevoman
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

webdevoman
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:42 am
Contact:

Re: Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by webdevoman » Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:36 pm

Oh well, not exactly the answer I was hoping for but I believe this should work with a simple adjustment of the htaccess file. I just cannot remember how it's done.

I have installed wordpress before on a domain with the aom store so I know it can be done.

Also, I am not installing this into the root directory. I am creating another directory like I posted above. This should make it much easier.

Is there anyone else around that knows htaccess well?

In regards to the wordpress integration plug in, yeah--the instructions have to be updated for the new version because I just don't see it....

I appreciate your time though and thanks for trying... Welcome to my nightmare...lol haha

webdevoman.com
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

webdevoman
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:42 am
Contact:

Re: Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by webdevoman » Sat Aug 29, 2009 2:56 pm

I finally figured it out and boy did it take awhile. All I had to do was basically bypass the directory like this..

RewriteRule ^folder_name/.*$ - [PT]

I tested this and it works..another way is to add mod_rewrite off in an htaccess file into ever directory you want to bypass..

There ya go.. an easy fix for blog integration..

webdevoman
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

Dave
Experience Level 2
Experience Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 7:17 pm

Re: Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by Dave » Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:32 am

Quick question, webdevoman: What program/utility did you use to create that animated logo for anonlinemall.com?
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

webdevoman
Experience Level 1
Experience Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:42 am
Contact:

Re: Simple HTAccess Question.

Post by webdevoman » Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:56 pm

Hey there,

Actually I hired someone to make a bunch of banners for me back a few years ago. I have no idea what graphics programs he used.

I know the store needs a header and I just put that there because I had nothing else. Eventually I will do something a bit better...


Thanks
webdevoman
Associate-O-Matic is changing. For the better. 8)

Please CLICK HERE for our important announcement.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests